SO, YOU’VE DECIDED TO BE REASONABLE…

14ed2cdf-f969-4d58-813f-04105122b6ecWell, the first week has passed and maybe you set some goals, made a vision board (thanks for this one, Andrea!), or decided you were more of a list person and wrote them down.

Either way, you’ve more than likely had occasion to modify your plans for your personal “unsticking.”

 

  • Did it throw you off your game?
  • Were you able to regroup after your initial reaction of “JEESH! WHY ME?”
  • How did you decide modification was a better idea than giving up?

There were a few comments this week that reflected the challenges …

Lisa @ The Meaning of Me says:  Goal was treadmill today. RA and dramatic temp drop said NOPE. I’m over it. Pass the space heater.

Lisa illustrates a great point. She’s referring to having rheumatoid arthritis which doesn’t respond well to forcing it through cold weather changes. She knows her body and what she should and shouldn’t do in order to avoid making her physical situation worse. If you can listen to your body vs letting your head take you to places you shouldn’t go (i.e. “Don’t be a wimp, you can do this!), it will work to your advantage when you have to modify your plans.

Josie at Two Shoes in Texas says:… At first I felt guilty, then realized that this is an unusual circumstance and no apology is needed. I also didn’t get any reading done last night because I was exhausted before bedtime ever got there. Today is less stressful, and I’ve got things under control, so I look forward to reading tonight…

Not only did Josie modify because she was just too stinking tired from a stressful day, but she recognizes that she can look forward to her goal of reading tonight because she didn’t force it last night. How many times have you forced yourself  to do something and resented the hell out of it the whole time? This way Josie gets to salvage her goal and enjoy meeting it when she can.

carrotBelieve me, I am not saying you shouldn’t push through on occasion, but there are times you would be better off to be able to know when pushing it, is going to backfire. If you find yourself doing it every day… reconsider. If you find you have an illness that doesn’t do well in rainy weather and your neighbor is building an ark…consider that maybe it’s time to find a lower key activity than the original plan.

Look, I know it’s not rocket science, but if we based it on the number of times we successfully manage to cut ourselves some slack, there are a lot of us practicing for NASA out there… 'When we say 'it's not rocket science' we mean it's something far more complicated.'

This entry was posted in support. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to SO, YOU’VE DECIDED TO BE REASONABLE…

  1. Well Josie and I are just freaking smart, that’s what we are. Freaking smart.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. valj2750 says:

    Interestingly, yesterday was one of those days for me. I spent hours taking my father to the doctor and for bloodwork, I just couldn’t accomplish my goal for the day. Giving myself some slack (which is difficult, being a product of the “suck it up”, work through the pain sort of philosophy), leaves a feeling of hope and positivity for the next day. I never made a vision board. Maybe I’m more of a list person.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Me too, I am a person of words, obviously… many, many words! 🙂 I agree that if we push too hard it then becomes something we dread, fight, and eventually are destined to fail at. Again, as you noted in an earlier post, Val, it’s all about finding the BALANCE so we want to continue on.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. One thing I do note in my past behaviors that will probably prove true this year as well, is that I can cut myself some slack for one night or one stumble, but if I let it go to two or three in a row, I am making excuses and that gets easier and easier to do. I guess that’s where the “push” part comes in. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kristi says:

    There is definitely a balance between cutting some slack and pushing through. I find it is easier to cut myself some slack when I think, “What would I advise someone else in this same situation?”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

